Mrs. Pea’s Goes High Tech

Over the past few months I have put my focus back onto Mrs. Pea’s Papers.  I reduced my hours at Starbucks, which helped tremendously!  I am now done with work most days before noon.  Imagine that, getting out of work before lunch and having the afternoons to yourself!  My spare bedroom is now a more functional studio too.  It is now my favorite place in the house.  I also invested in an incredible machine, the Silhouette Cameo!

The Cameo opens up a whole new world to me.  It is basically a printer that cuts your designs, and comes with an illustrator type software that’s easy to use.  Unlike some other craft cutters out there this one will cut your own designs, and as an added bonus you can even switch out the knife for a pen!  It even has the ability to cut out your printed images.  I can’t say enough good things about this machine.  Check out my first real project with the Cameo:

I was able to cut out the vinyl lettering for the window of my stepmother’s new business using the font of my choosing.  It’s amazing to be able to do something so professional from home!  Did I mention it cuts a range of materials?!  You could use this machine to cut paper, card stock, vinyl, fabric, magnetic paper, rhinestone templates, and more.  You really get a lot for your money.  Next I made a card for a friend’s wedding:

This card actually gave me a lot of trouble and showed me the limitations of the machine.  It does not like a thick card stock paired with a thin font.  You also need to watch what is behind the machine that the adhesive mat could stick too.  At one point the exposed adhesive edge grabbed the stapler on my desk and dragged it back while ruining the cut.  Mostly, this card was my trial and error process with the Cameo.  Due to time constraints, I almost gave up on it completely but I stuck with it and figured it out.  I was very proud of myself when it was finished!

For my Etsy shop I am still developing items for Christmas but I was able to design these patterns with the Silhouette software and use the machine to cut out the tags.

It has been a fun process learning the best way to use the Cameo and it’s software.  Working with the pen features is next on my list, so be sure to look out for calligraphic holiday tags soon!

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Pea’s Goes High Tech

  1. Sounds great! Love the new background for Ms. Pea’s as well. New products sound exciting! So happy to have you bad Mrs. Pea’s!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

