Summer Goals

Wow, I knew it had been a while since I posted but I can not believe it has been a month!  Time really does fly by, especially in the summer months.  I don’t feel like much has changed over the past month, except for one big goal I set for myself.  I am going to lose 17 pounds this summer!

Now let me back up a bit.  Over the past year I have been very impressed by sister meeting and exceeding her goals.  My sister is not a runner, but earlier this spring she set out to run a 4 mile road race at the end of June and not only did she complete it, she did it at a great pace!  Even when her husband decided running was not for him, she kept at it when I know I would’ve quit.  She had a quiet a bit of inner motivation to get fit for a (hopefully very near) future pregnancy.

Getting fit before trying to conceive is a smart thing to do.  From what I have read, it can help make conception, pregnancy, as well as delivery a little easier.  Not to mention it’s just better for your health in general, pregnancy or not.  So I took my cue from her to improve on my own well-being, as I too hope to be pregnant soon.  😉

Being unemployed over the winter takes it toll on your body.  I am by no mean huge, just boarding on the “overweight” line for my age and height on the Body Mass Index.  I would like to get myself back into the safe havens of a healthy BMI ranking.  I would like my clothes to fit better, and most importantly I would like to start my journey into motherhood as a healthy woman.  So I joined a free website service, SparkPeople.com.  They have multiple apps for my phone to track my nutrition, fitness, water intake, weight loss, and to even find healthy recipes.  That’s all just on my phone!  Their website goes much further with meal plans, daily nutrition reports, articles on fitness, nutrition, motivation, well-being, you name it!  They have teams, challenges, support groups, games, basically everything you need to succeed!

My mom had joined this website before both mine and my sister’s wedding.  It had worked for her in the past and I wanted to give it a shot too.  Well lo and behold I motivated her into joining me on the site again!  Family is such a wonderful thing, here we are each in different States motivating each other into taking care of ourselves.  I am proud to say I am already 4 pounds lighter, just 13 more to go!  The best part is it only took very small adjustments to my life to get there.

My tracking app sets my daily nutrition and fitness goals; not just in calories but goals for proteins, carbs, and fats.  All of which I have found very manageable to keep up, even eating in a mall food court.  After reading the nutritional articles, I know what a serving size is and I know how a plate should be divided.  I did have a constant headache the first week of this lower calorie diet, but now I am feeling great.  One of my secrets is I don’t count the calories I burn from working at Starbucks.

I have a wonderful reward waiting for me at the end of this weight loss journey too, a trip to Florida!  OK, ok it is also a trip for our anniversary, and to visit friends, but still fitting into my bikini again is going to be a reward all of its own.   Wish me luck!

One thought on “Summer Goals

  1. What a lovely and motivational blog! Yes wearing a bikini again is a great reward in itself but having friends and family helping along the way is just the best! While I don’t have weddings to attend or bikini to try to fit back into (horror show at best) or a trip planned, I just want to be able to feel healthy, and feel good when I look into a mirror or see a snapshot of myself. Having been thin most of my youth and some of my adult life it was the bomb to see pictures of myself and feel good about how I looked. As I approach 60 I want to feel that I still have a future to look forward to not regret. It is all in my power to do something about and all the sweets in the world do not make up for the years that I have lost, by not feeling well. Let’s do it! WOO HOO!

    MOM

Leave a Reply

