Chicken Soup for the Cold Soul

With all this hot and cold weather we have been seeing here in New England I have caught a nasty cold.  One of my favorite things to cook and eat are soups.  I take great pride in the soups I produce!  When I was first thinking about starting a small business selling soup was on the top of my list.

Now here’s the thing, when Mr. Pea is not feeling well it’s easy for me to regal him with my homemade chicken soup, but when I’m sick it’s a different matter.  I am stuck with either canned soup (yuck) or quick frozen meals.  Fair warning, once you’ve started making homemade soup, you are spoiled for life; canned soup will never be good enough again.   So even though it’s 75 degrees outside today, I am making myself a quick version of chicken soup for my cold soul.

Chicken Soup

*Tip: If making this while you are sick, start it in the morning when you have a little more energy.  Then you can have it for lunch and dinner.

 1 lb. Chicken Breast
8 cups water
2 large chicken bullion
2 cups chicken stock
All the veggies you can find in the fridge (pasta can work too if you’re short on veggies)
Spices (I used Black Pepper, Salt, Rosemary, Tarragon, Ground Sage, Thyme, Parsley, and Paprika.)
Splash of Sherry if you’ve got it

Pull out the largest soup pot you got and defrost the chicken if needed.  Cube the chicken while bringing the water and bullion to a boil.

Boil the chicken until done, about 20 minutes.

Rest and chop the veggies while the chicken is boiling.  These just happen to be the veggies I had on hand.

Remove the chicken and add the diced veggies, chicken stock, and season to taste with the herbs you’ve chosen. I don’t measure these, but I make sure the top of the pot is covered with seasonings.

The rosemary, tarragon, sage, & thyme are a classic french pairing, but you can certainly add italian herbs instead.  Don’t forget to add a splash of sherry, this brings a lot of richness to the table.

Shred the chicken if you’ve got it in you, otherwise leave the cubed chicken in the pot.

Reward any helpers you might have.  After all they lovingly sit by your bedside keeping you company while you aren’t feeling so well.

Stir and bring to a boil.  Are you resting in between these steps?  Once boiling, stir and reduce to a simmer.  Cover and let simmer for at least an hour stirring occasionally.  The longer you can let this simmer the better the flavor.  Be sure to taste the broth during the simmering process to make sure it is seasoned properly.

Pour yourself a large mug or bowl full of soup and enjoy with crackers or a chunk of bread.  Enjoy and feel better!

3 thoughts on “Chicken Soup for the Cold Soul

  1. Sounds sooooooo good! However I am so sorry you are not feeling well! Maybe you had too much over the weekend, with all that birthday stuff! Lol. Get well real soon!!!!!!!

  2. Everyone knows cold germs hate chicken soup. If you eat enough, the cold germs give up and go away.

    Hope you will feel better tomorrow.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Chicken Stock | Mrs. Pea's Perspectives

Leave a Reply

