Is it Spring yet?!

I got hit hard this week with a bad case of Spring fever!  I know daylight savings in on Sunday but there’s must be something in the air because I can not sit still.  This morning alone I made more yogurt, fresh granola, butchered my first chicken, and made mojo sauce to marinate the chicken in!  Yesterday I couldn’t wait any longer to sink my hands into some dirt, so I did my gardening inside and re-potted all my plants.  What a fun way to mess up your living room!  I feel like I’m going to go out of my head waiting for warm weather and sunny evenings.

So if you too are in need of a taste of warmer weather, here is my Mojo Sauce recipe.*  It’s a garlicky, citrus sauce from Cuba that is out of this world.  It’s a good marinade or dipping sauce for just about any meat or veggies.

Mojo Sauce:

1 Orange (freshly squeezed and zested)
1 Lime (freshly squeezed and zested)
6 cloves of Garlic
1/2 cup Olive Oil
2 Tbsp Vinegar (cider or white)
1 Tsp Cumin
1 Tsp dried Cilantro (or a handful of fresh cilantro)
Salt & Pepper to your liking
For a little kick, add 1 Jalapeno or 1/2 Onion

Mix all the above ingredients with a food processor and store in the refrigerator.  This makes about 1-1/2 cups.

Enjoy!

*On a side note, I just want to say I’m terrible at following recipes (even my own).  I used 6 mandarins instead of an orange and fresh globe basil instead of cilantro.  I greatly encourage you all to experiment with this sauce!

Leave a Reply

