Get Inspired!!! (Part 2)

Top of the Hill looking over Groton, MA

While stripping wallpaper is certainly a project, it is not a hobby.  I have toyed around with the idea of opening a shop on Etsy, and figuring out what to sell in my shop was a big part of the reason I was thinking about sewing or knitting.  The fact that there is a big learning curve from picking up a new hobby to actually selling anything worthwhile was keeping me from even starting.  My sister suggested I do something with the series of bird illustrations I had made for my wedding.  (She’s pretty in tune with me!) This thought had also been bubbling around in the back of my head.  It sounds silly but I hesitated to go down the paper goods route since a good friend of mine already has.  She makes beautiful hand-made greeting cards, seriously check them out at Wingin’ It Crafts.  I didn’t want to compete with her or ever make her feel like I was trying too.  The thing of it is this is all in my head, just getting these thoughts out into the open made me realize my friend would be the first to encourage me if I gave it half a shot.  That’s what makes a friend a good friend!

Anyways, the more I thought about the things I could do with these illustrations the more excited I got.  I wanted to make sets of cards and invitations, hopefully even branch into calendars and beyond one day.  The second I let go of my own hesitations the fog lifted and I knew I was on to something.  With motivation behind me I started researching what it takes to open an Etsy shop.  The more I read the more I realized opening an online shop, even on Etsy, should be treated like opening your own small business.  Great!  I’ve always wanted my own small business.  I looked into the cons of opening a shop on Etsy and found this article on the blog My Wife Quit Her Job.  It basically says why put all your hard work into a store while being at the mercy of another company.  The article made a lot of good points, for instance they could raise their rates and wipe out any small profit you could be making.  So I poked around on his site a little more and starting convincing myself opening an independent e-commerce site was the way to go.  This required more research, so off to the biz ladies section of Design Sponge I went.  The women over there made an Etsy shop feel more empowering.  In the end, I decided I wasn’t ready for a full on e-commerce site and just like that I opened an Etsy shop within a matter of minutes.  Welcome to Mrs. Pea’s Papers!

Here’s the problem, I opened my shop and was immediately underwhelmed.  With just one item for sale no one is going to buy from me, not only that but I am lost in a sea of countless shops already well established, but worse still there was no way to get feedback or to build a following.  My shop slipped into the stream with no fanfare and nobody noticed.

But wait!  I have done all this small business research, I have even pestered several of my friends to find the right name for my shop, I can’t just be underwhelmed like that!  What about a blog?!  It was part of my plan to start a blog if I went ahead with an independent website, why not start one now?  Hence, Mrs. Pea’s Perspectives was born.  Two posts in and it’s already been the most rewarding process!  17 views, 3 followers, and 1 comment I got on my first day alone!  My mind is racing with all the things I would like to share with the world, better yet I feel more compelled to keep my Etsy shop up so I can tell you all about it!

This blog was my answer.  Mrs. Pea’s Perspectives is already generating more inspiration in me to create even more illustrations, more meals, and more reasons to photograph it all in a meaningful way.  I hope you will all enjoy the posts that are to come and I hope you are all a bit inspired to let go of your own hesitations.

Up next.. How I created my logo.

3 thoughts on “Get Inspired!!! (Part 2)

  1. Hey There! Welcome to the blog world! I saw your link on gchat and clicked and look what I found!! I was wondering what you’ve been up to and now I know and can continue to follow. I love that you did all of this research! I didn’t even bother with the ecommerce business and I too feel similar to you about Etsy and being lost in a sea of other established shops but if you keep up with it and promote it even on facebook you’ll get some exposure! And I, of course, would not mind or think you were competing with me – it’s such a fun creative hobby and it gives me a creative outlet; something I don’t really get in my day job :) I would suggest poking around in local shops to see if they’d be willing to let you sell your stuff, it’s a great way to get custom orders – at least that is what has worked for me. Good luck and let me know if you need anything!

    • Thanks Nicole! I hope to start pounding the pavement soon, but I’d like to build up a few products first (say 5). You should know, you are an inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

